Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

by Gary Jacob

Wingless 360 Sprint Cars, Dirt Modifieds, Super Street Stocks and Hobby Stocks 

Chowchilla, CA...June 17....Idle for more than a year, Fresno's Jason Yount made a huge return to sprint car racing as he scored a near clean sweep of the SCRA injected, wingless 360 sprint car action at Chowchilla Speedway on Saturday night. Yount timed in fifth quick, but won his heat, the dash and the 30 lap feature for an $800 payday. Steve Osborne was just a couple car lengths back at the checkered flag for second and fast timer Jonathan Logan ran third ahead of David Press and Jeff Fiscus. Just minutes after winning the IMCA Modified feature 20 miles away at Merced Speedway, Chris Shannon was wheeling the same car in the dirt modified main here and he scored another win to give him victories at two different race tracks on the same night. Shannon had started his night in Chowchilla, but the appearance of only five cars for the hastily scheduled non-point race saw him decide to tow back to Merced for their show with the intention of returning to Chowchilla to tag the main if the time schedule worked. Eight other cars ended up making the tow with Shannon and Jimmy Reeves raced to a second in the feature ahead of Garrett Steitz and Ray Mayer. The dirt modifieds had been added to the Chowchilla date when the track elected to cancel their remaining limited late model shows. Bakersfield's Jeremiah VanScoy was the super street stock feature winner ahead of Mike Angelo and Steven Hannah. Roy Hart Jr started the night 7 points back of point leader Hannah and ran fourth right behind him in the feature. Hobby stock point leader Marc Key lost a tire in his heat race, but stormed from the rear to win the main event ahead of 2005 champion Kevin Pettitt and Mike Stockton. Jarod Fast started the night just four points behind Key and he ran fourth in the feature.

               It was a rare two race weekend for the traveling SCRA band as they had run Friday night at nearby Ocean Speedway. Daniel Hood was the Ocean Speedway winner, but broke an oil pump in practice at Chowchilla to end his night early. That left a ten car field to race. Wheeling his Stinger Chassis, Jonathan Logan got quick time for the second straight night with a 15.703 lap on the 3/8 mile clay oval. Coming off a second place finish at Ocean, new SCRA point leader Rusty Carlile from Bakersfield was second quick at 16.008 and Santa Maria's Jeff Fiscus ran a 16.048 lap. Richard Harvey Jr edged out Yount for fourth quick, 16.114 to 16.171. Albert Pombo was the final dash qualifier. Yount won the opening heat race over Fiscus and Logan with Nick Ringo's night ending. Carlile beat David Press and Pombo in heat 2. The dash inverts the six fastest qualifiers and the dash finish determines the starting order for the front three rows in the feature. Yount won the dash from his outside front row start with Harvey second ahead of Pombo, Carlile, Fiscus and Logan. The feature action saw the field racing in a train around the bottom. Yount charged into the lead. Osborne lined up 7th, was fifth in five laps and made a move to third on lap 10. He gained second when Harvey spun in turn 3 and spent the rest of the race looking for a route around winner Yount. Osborne was pleased with his second place effort and Logan rebounded from a Friday night crash to get third. Press put his wingless spec sprint in fourth ahead of Fiscus, Pombo, Harvey, Carlile and Kevin Barnes. Carlile came out of the weekend 12 points up on Logan and 69 ahead of Harvey. SCRA will provide support for the Golden State Challenge Series winged 410 sprint cars in Tulare on June 24.

               Chowchilla has enjoyed incredible car counts in the dirt modifieds in 2006 so the appearance of just five cars for the hastily scheduled non-point race came as a surprise. Several of the track regulars were in action at Antioch. Shannon and Adam Silveira both elected to tow back to Merced to race there with the idea of coming back for the Chowchilla feature. North Fork's Ray Mayer beat Reeves in the Chowchilla heat race. Steven Williams broke to end his night. Reeves was in his own car as he wheels the Minyard Racing entry at Santa Maria Speedway. When Shannon and Silveira made a quick trip back to Chowchilla after the Merced race, seven other cars joined them including Merced runnerup Troy Stone and fourth place Aaron Barnell. Paul Stone, Mike Villanueva and Clay Daly had all scored top tens at Merced before making the 20 minute tow. Shannon backed up his Merced win with a Chowchilla victory in his GRT. Reeves ran second ahead of Steitz, Mayer, Barnell, Joel Chavez, Silveira, P Stone, Daly, T Stone and Villanueva.

           Since the clocks were already up for the wingless sprint cars, the track gave the super street stocks a qualifying session with the reward of a free pit pass for fast time. Wheeling the Dave Bauer car from Bakersfield, Brady Bell clicked off the fastest time to get the prize. A nine car field appeared but Johnny Curtis was sidelined in hot laps. Hart beat VanScoy and Nick Sagmiller in heat 1 and Hannah won heat 2 over Angelo and Cody Frades. Bell broke a transmission to end his night. That left a 7 car feature and new track regular VanScoy won ahead of Angelo, Hannah, Hart, Frades, Sagmiller and Willie Livingston.

          There were 9 hobby stocks and Mike Stockton beat Scott Whitley in heat 1. Pettitt won heat 2 over Fast and Cathy Carvajal. Key lost a wheel in heat 2, but charged through the entire field to win the feature and protect his small point lead. Pettitt continues to climb back into point contention as he ran second ahead of Stockton and Fast. Pettitt was ranked fourth behind Key, Fast and Melissa Fuhrman starting the night. Whitley was fifth in the feature ahead of Fuhrman and Carvajal. Foster Leedy made the tow from Lodi and ran 9th behind Davey Soares.

          June 24 will be a point race for the All Star Dirt Modifieds and the CSRA/NCMA wingless spec sprints will be in town along with the hobby stocks, mini fours, super fours and lady hobby stocks. Sunday July 2 will see the second round of the three race Freedom Series. On that night, the dirt modifieds race for $1000 to win, the super street stocks $800 and the hobby stocks $600. The Memorial Day round had huge car counts and similar numbers are expected for this leg.


Hobby Stock Heat 1-Mike Stockton, Scott Whitley, Melissa Fuhrman, Davey Soares. Heat 2-Kevin Pettitt, Jarod Fast, Cathy Carvajal, Foster Leedy, Marc Key. Main-Key, Pettitt, Stockton, Fast, Whitley, Fuhrman, Carvajal, Soares, Leedy. 

Super Street Stcok Heat 1-Roy Hart Jr, Jeremiah VanScoy, Nick Sagmiller, Willie Livingston. Heat 2-Steven Hannah, Mike Angelo, Cody Frades, Brady Bell. Main-VanScoy, Angelo, Hannah, Hart, Frades, Sagmiller, Livingston. 

Dirt Modified Heat-Ray Mayer, Jimmy Reeves, Steven Williams. Main-Chris Shannon, Reeves, Garrett Steitz, Mayer, Aaron Barnell, Joel Chavez, Adam Silveira, Paul Stone, Clay Daly, Troy Stone, Mike Villanueva. 

Wingless 360 Sprint Car Fast Time-Jonathan Logan 15.703 Heat 1-Jason Yount, Jeff Fiscus, Logan, Steve Osborne, Nick Ringo. Heat 2-Rusty Carlile, David Press, Albert Pombo, Richard Harvey Jr, Kevin Barnes. Dash-Young, Harvey, Pombo, Carlile, Fiscus, Logan. Main-Young, Osborne, Logan, Press, Fiscus, Pombo, Harvey, Carlile, Barnes.






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR